Resetting an Activity Reporting Period

Let's say, hypothetically, that you've collected data for an activity reporting period, but you realize that this data was either entered into the wrong activity, or the wrong reporting period, or wasn't properly cleaned. You'd like to go back to a blank slate for the activity reporting period. Is it possible to do this? The short answer: yes.

Who can reset an Activity Reporting Period?

Only users assigned to groups with the Owner box checked can reset an Activity Reporting Period. All other users will not see the option in the dropdown.

When can an Activity Reporting Period be reset?

At any time. It can be In Progress, Submitted, and even Approved. This is why it's limited to Owner users.

The only exception to this is for sites that publish data to enterprise sites--if the Reporting Period has been Certified and locked, you must first Undo Certification of the Reporting Period as a whole before individual Activity Reporting Periods can be reset.

What does resetting an Activity Reporting Period actually do?

For the given Activity Reporting Period, a reset will:

  • Delete all narrative responses
  • Delete all indicator results and their comments for direct entry indicators
  • Delete all indicator results for formula indicators and queue them for recalculation
  • Delete all logic check violations
  • Change the status (it will go to a "No Data" state if there are no remaining actuals or to an "In Progress" state if there are still data table actuals)

Activity Reporting Period resets do not touch data table indicator calculations.

How do I reset the Activity Reporting Period?

First, navigate to the Activity Reporting Period you wish to reset, either by going to the Activity Overview tab and clicking on the Reporting Period you want, or going to Results > Reporting Periods, opening the Reporting Period, and clicking on the Activity you want. Either way will get you to an Activity Reporting Period screen like this:

Note that there is data for all indicators in the Current Results column and the status in the upper right shows this is In Progress.

To reset the Activity Reporting Period, click the Status dropdown in the upper right and click on Reset activity reporting period:

As with other Activity Reporting Period Status change processes, this will open a pop-up to identify the users who will be contacted about the change, and you can add a message, too. Once you've typed in the Message you want to send, click the Next button in the lower right:

Because this will permanently delete data, you will see an additional warning screen to be sure this is what you want to do:

You must type DELETE in the box to confirm, and then you'll be able to click the Reset data and send button to complete resetting the Activity Reporting Period and send the message.

Once the reset is complete, the Activity Reporting Period page will refresh. If you have no data table data, you will see this as a No Data status. In this example, since I have data table data, I will still see those indicator actuals and have an In Progress status:

The reset will be logged in the Discussion tab of this Activity Reporting Period:

Didn't answer your question? Please email us at help@devresults.com.